plastic

Story of Plastic

Streaming live from London, 17 June, 12pm to 1pm

On Wednesday 17 June we are hosting a conversation about the plastic pollution crisis—and the movement working to end it. 


In these uncertain times, it's crucial to champion the causes that bring us together as part of something bigger than ourselves. Stories and film have a unique ability to do this, bridge divides and bring us together.

Presented by The Story of Stuff Project, The Story of Plastic takes a sweeping look at the man-made crisis of plastic pollution and the worldwide effect it has on the health of our planet and the people who inhabit it. Spanning three continents, the film illustrates the ongoing catastrophe: fields full of garbage, veritable mountains of trash, rivers and seas clogged with waste, and skies choked with the poisonous emissions from plastic production and processing. The film features interviews with experts and activists on the front lines of the fight, revealing the disastrous consequences of the flood of plastic smothering ecosystems and poisoning communities around the world, and the global movement that is rising up in response. With engaging original animation, archival industry footage beginning in the 1930s, and first-person accounts of the unfolding emergency, the film distills a complex problem that is increasingly affecting the planet’s and its residents’ well-being.

Join us as we unpack the ugly truth, discuss sustainability and explore how brands can help spread awareness of environmental and human rights with some incredible speakers:

  • Doug Woodring, Founder, Managing Director, Ocean Recovery Alliance
  • Tiza Mafira, Co-founder & Executive Director, Indonesia Plastic Bag Diet Movement
  • Matt Reid, Co-Founder & Director, Maximal Concepts Ltd
  • Thomas Ball, Head of Partnerships Management, WWF-UK
  • Vik Saran, Director of Materials, New Balance

Once registered, this International film that has just premiered on The Discovery Channel will be shared with in advance so that you can view it at your own pace before the discussion on Wednesday 17 June takes place.


Timings: streaming live from London, 12pm BST (7am EDT, 3pm GST, 4.30pm IST, 7pm SGT/HKT)

To register please use the button below.
 

 

Speakers

Matt Reid

Co-Producer, Maximal Concepts Ltd

Doug Woodring

Founder and Managing Director, Ocean Recovery Alliance

Thomas Ball

Head of Partnerships Management

Vik Saran

Director of Materials, New Balance

Tiza Mafira

Associate Director at CPI Indonesia office
The Story of Plastic trailer

Venue

Streaming live from London