children

Note from the CEO: April 2020

We're all adapting to the new normal

April 2020: As we enter another week of lockdown, I wanted to get in touch before many of us take a short break for the Easter weekend.

At the Society HQ, we’re adapting to the new normal - remote working, virtual calls, webinars and my personal favourite, enjoying the benefits of waist-up business attire, which are all now part of our every day.  And like so many of you, I’m getting used to small people gate-crashing our calls – and it’s fine.        

As you know, we care about bringing value to our community so it’s been a time to reframe and pivot, to test and learn -  at pace. Never before has our `brave together' agenda been more apt.

For us, the number one priority is our well-being, this and keeping our members inspired and motivated. Next Tuesday we’re launching The Week Ahead – a weekly digest to help you navigate the many ways to stay involved, from virtual events to curated content, the latest podcasts and Society initiatives - all designed to keep our community connected and thriving.

And with everything that’s been going on, now feels like a good time to pause and reflect. To help with that, our next Keep Calm and Pause on Wednesday 15 April, streaming from London at 1pm BST (8am EDT / 4pm GST / 5.30pm IST and 8pm HKT/SGT) will focus on resetting and regenerating with Brave Conference Speaker, Rob Poynton.

So, happy weekend to you and your loved ones. Stay positive and know in challenging times, there is always another way.

With best wishes,

Gemma Greaves
Outgoing Chief Executive, The Marketing Society